NY Daily News covers #M1 with focus on Baruch student’s struggle

Today, New York Daily News covered the upcoming #M1 defense of education actions planned for March 1 by focusing on Paola Martinez, a Baruch student and member of Students United for a Free CUNY:

“She’s the face of the working poor attracted by the Occupy Movement. Paola Martinez, 24, will march across the Brooklyn Bridge on March 1 with the Baruch College chapter of Students for a Free CUNY.

They’re protesting the escalating tuition costs at this great university, which gave countless young people of this city…a shot in life.

“…But these tuition hikes are really hurting people like me.”

“It’s why the Occupy Movement attracted me,” she says. “I marched in a big rally last year and it gave me a feeling of empowerment. I will march again on March 1. I march to say I want to go to school and work for a better future for myself and my family.”

To read the full story, visit http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/education/fighting-better-family-cuny-article-1.1029458#ixzz1nh9lSujd

